Books & Authors, Part 1

Because I spent the summer reading, I thought I’d share something about some of the authors and their books. I think I’ll have to do this in at least two parts, maybe three. Thus the title, Part 1. 🙂

29975702

Let’s talk about Kathryn Jane’s books. I read her latest, ALL SHE WANTED. Prior to my being tied to my chair, I’d read all her other books. Here’s her link: https://kathrynjane.com/  The first book of hers I read was

TOUCH ME.  Blurb from her web site:  Shattered by the murder of her father, Grace Taylor has lost her passion for life, and swears she’ll never dance again. But a telepathic connection with a stranger sparks feelings, fears, and memories she can’t escape.

From the first moment Agent Logan hears Grace’s “touch me” in his head, he knows he can’t walk away from her cry for help. But reaching the intriguing woman who’s buried her feelings and abilities beneath an impenetrable armor requires all his gifts and then some.

 Will unveiling the secrets buried in Grace’s mind allow her to live again, find love, and dance? Or will a forgotten promise cost her everything?

Well, after reading that book, I was hooked on Kathryn Jane and I’ve read all her books. I love the touch of paranormal. Her characters are people you want to root for. The plots are complex.

Here’s the tag line for ALL SHE WANTED that I read this summer. The only thing standing between Angie and her happily ever after is the stubborn man she’s in love with… and a group of deadly organized criminals.

You can read about her latest release, DANCE WITH ME, in my September newsletter. Make sure you’ve signed up. http://eepurl.com/bBcimz   Love that in her newest book the characters are older.

KathrynJane_DanceWithMe_800px

Don’t you just love this guy?!

Here’s part of the blurb for DANCE WITH ME. James is locked on and ready to take down a rogue Special Agent when secrets are revealed, and shocking new information puts lives on the line.

Julia and James have grit, love, and a strong supportive family on their side, but what they’re up against threatens to undo their dream of a new life together.

 The love they have for each other is powerful. You don’t want to miss any of Kathryn Jane’s books.

Now I admit, I mostly read romantic suspense, but I did dip into other genres this summer. Check out prolific author and a member of my writing chapter NTRWA, Chris Keniston’s web site. http://www.chriskeniston.com/aloha-series.html  This specifically connects to a series which ALOHA TEXAS is apart of.

Aloha Texas

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Chris really has a way with words. Here’s the blurb from her website:

Former navy diver Nicholas Harper likes his new world as captain of a dive boat in Hawaii. That is until a phone call from the past changes everything. Now his uncomplicated life suddenly becomes very complicated.

Powerhouse attorney Kara Lynn O’Conner’s world revolves around her small Texas town where life is easy and safe. Focusing on her career keeps her dark secrets locked away. That is until her newest case makes her face her fears….

Here’s another: GERIATRIC REBELS by Roseanne Dowell. Go to http://roseanne-dowell.tripod.com/ to see all of her books. This was a delightful book about two 70-year-olds who have to overcome some tough situations to find a second chance at love.

 Geriatric Rebels

I hope you get a chance to check out these authors. You’ve got some good reading ahead of you. More about my summer books next time.

Ankle Update: Walking at home without cane except when I first get up in the morning. Have made short trips to the store and therapy, driving myself. Oh the wonderful freedom! Hope to get back to Pilates the first week of September.

Book Update: Still haven’t sent THE THEATRE to my editor. (Sorry, Joy Clintsman) I got through and realized I needed to make sure I mentioned my hero’s hat, which shows up on the cover. (which I love! Thank you, Charlotte Volnek!) . You have to wait for the reveal. 🙂 Almost finished with edits and hope to send to Joy today or Friday.

How much do recommendations from friends count in your decisions of what books to read? Love to hear from you.

Please contact me at marsha@marsharwest.com , sign up for my newsletter http://eepurl.com/bBcimz , and follow me on any of my social media sites.

http://www.marsharwest.com 

https://authormarsharwest.wordpress.com/ for my Blog

https://www.facebook.com/#!/marsha.r.west  @marsha.r.west

http://www.twitter.com/Marsharwest  @Marsharwest

https://www.pinterest.com/marsharwest/

https://sisterhoodofsuspense.com/blog/

 

10 responses to “Books & Authors, Part 1

  1. Thank goodness for books, Marsha to help you get through the long summer. I’m so happy you have more freedom now. Continued best wishes. 🙂

    I love to read reviews and enjoyed your comments for each of the above books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So glad you are able to get about, Marsha. I bet the new freedom is wonderful!
    Thanks so much for the mention of those authors. I haven’t read any of those books. I’m building up a list of authors to put on my e-reader for my long flight to New Zealand in a couple of weeks. Your recommendations will keep me entertained!
    Hope you continue to recover well

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Helena. Oh, I’m excited you’re getting to see your daughter. But what a loooooong flight. I realized this morning I need to go some place every day and walk if I expect to manage Charley again and be able to go to Maine in October. I’ll probably have a few more authors next week. Stay tuned. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Kathryn. Had to start with your books. I’d say you’re my favorite author, but it sounds so gushy! LOL Yes, I’m heading off in a bit to walk in a store to build my stamina so I can walk Charley again. I miss that time with Bob & Charley. Bob comes home with his deer count for the walk. Cool, huh? Thanks for reblogging and for stopping by.

      Like

  3. Hi Marsha, so glad the rehab is going well! Books have always been my escape, I remember getting yelled at to shut off my lights and go to sleep as a kid because I had a light under the covers so I could read, lol. Yep, I was that kid 🙂
    I love Kat’s books also, and can’t wait to start her new one. Right now I’m reading Susan Elizabeth Phillips, First Star I See Tonight and Susan Wiggs Family Tree. Very different, but powerful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Jacquie. I was like you as a kid. Can’t tell you the times I got into trouble because I told my parents I’d do something, but didn’t because I was lost in a book.I’m embarrassed to say I don’t read either of those authors, who I’ve heard are awesome. I have a limited range that I read. Romantic Suspense tops the list, followed by a few cozies by some specific authors, and a some women’s fiction. Really need to work on expanding, but when I have limited time to read (not counting this summer LOL) then I want to read what I really like. Thanks so much for stopping by.:)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing these authors and books. I love Roseanne’s warm and witty books too. So glad to have books to make time pass more quickly. While recovering from eye surgery this summer, I listened to a lot of audio books on my Kindle. Too much reading made my eye tired and me crabby. I have been downloading audio books from my library. So easy to use overdrive.com app. I’ve discovered listening to audio books nowadays is like listening to a play on the radio. Some great narrators out there. Plus you can “read” while doing mundane tasks like folding laundry and cleaning up the kitchen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

