Technology GRRR! & Great News

After I’d prepared this blog post, I had the good fortune to get THE THEATRE set up for PRE-ORDER. Have never made this happen before. The book will release on Oct. 31. I know Halloween. It’s also the BD for one of my SILs. (The first book, VERMONT ESCAPE, released on my other SIL’s BD. Seemed only fair.)  Here’s the linkhttp://amzn.to/2dSspEL

the-theatre-300dpi

Hope you’ll help spread the word. 🙂

Last Thursday, when my blog went live and I really needed internet access, I didin’t have it. I’d had it on Wednesday evening, but nothing Thursday morning. GRRR!

So I did the things I know to fix it.

Shut off the computer and restarted. (Doesn’t that always fix everything?) Not this time.

I fiddled around with the internet icon and clicked on a few things. Nothing.

Finally, at 9 am I gave in and tried to call AT & T. After a couple of aborted tries—including getting every offer known to man and womankind—I got through to one of those not real people things—though he sounded really real, you know.

img_4266

Now, you need to know that if I leave my screen alone too long, the whole computer goes to sleep and I have to shut it off at the box (because I can’t find the “power” button in the stream of new stuff Windows 10 has given me.), which I know is not recommended, but if you’ve got to shut it off….

So I’m on the phone and started making notes to keep the computer live. Mostly typing with one hand. This is frustrating to me because I’m a fast typist with both hands. So here are my notes:

(Started working on this at 9:00 notes started at 9:30.)

9:30 9/29/16

M o m is not happy!!!

The internet is down

I’m talking with someone perhaps from India. Accent, but her English is pretty good.

Charley is barking. Makes it hard to hear.

Just got disconnected!!!!

Calling again.

Can’t get to live person

Started over.

New person, not as good with his English. And very hard to hear her. Soft voice.

New no. (Not sure what this means. ????)

Talking to computer again

Now another person. I explain problem for the umpteenth time

Wait time 3 min. lots of adds

Typing to keep computer working. It dies with inactivity.

Got a real person. Desmond easy to understand…hopeful….

10:27 I’m connected! WhooHoo!

img_4265

Okay, are you ready to know what worked? I turned off the hot spot by removing the battery. Early on, I’d tried to turn it off. I unplugged it, but I keep it plugged in all the time, so it’s fully charged. I searched for a shut off button for some time, before I began the agony of phone calls. I seriously never thought to take the battery out!

Not the best 1/1/2 hours of my life. Sure it wasn’t good for my blood pressure.

The good thing is, should this happen again, I will remember to take out the battery!

Incidentally, we are getting a new computer. The one I’m using is a 2011 variety. Terrified I’ll lose stuff, but this shutting off business is nuts!

So what’s your worst story with technology? As you know, I have many. A friend commented that she didn’t know anyone who’d had as many incidents with technology as I have. LOL The good thing is most times, I’ll get on FB and ask and someone has an answer. Not sure why I didn’t do that this time. 😦

Love to hear from you.

You can contact me at marsha@marsharwest.com and find me at here on my web site http://www.authormarsharwest.com  and  https://sisterhoodofsuspense.com/blog/  

Sign up for my NEWSLETTER at http://eepurl.com/bBcimz

https://www.facebook.com/#!/marsha.r.west  @marsha.r.west

http://www.twitter.com/Marsharwest  @Marsharwest

https://www.pinterest.com/marsharwest/

10 responses to “Technology GRRR! & Great News

    • Hey, Ken. We’ve always been Dell folks. Bob’s work uses them and they’re a Texas company. It gets a lot of work and I’m not high tech. Sure I’ve messed it up a couple of times, not to mention the way we get internet on the lake. I use a Hot Spot. Thanks for your good wishes on THE THEATRE. I really like this book. (of course, we like them all, don’t we?) LOL Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I hear your pain. I now have an Apple as well as a Windows. I think there are advantages and disadvantages to both.
    About the turn off. Go to your lower left on the screen. Click the Window icon. Directly above it will be their power icon. It’s a circle missing a vertical line intersecting the top. Click it and you have three choices and one of them is to shut the darn thing off.
    Congrats on your new book, which I pre-ordered.
    I hope you have a better day.
    all the best,
    Jo-Ann

    Like

  2. Oh, Jo-Ann! Thanks so much for pointing out the power button. I’d seen it once and then the stuff changed again, and I couldn’t find it. Will be sooooo much easier. Thanks for the pre-order. So excited to finally get to do this. Maybe it won’t make a difference in sales, but seemed like the thing to do. 🙂 Thanks for stopping and sharing your wealth of info. Such a smart lady. 🙂

    Like

  3. Chuckling to myself. When I got Windows 10 my husband and I could NOT find the shut-off either. I just started clicking and boom, it shut down. Not too scientific. Jo Ann gave you good directions for finding it. Thrilled you are pubbing Oct. 31! So excited for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, JQ. Glad I’m not the only one!. Of course, now my problem is the whole screen goes dark and so I can’t get to the lovely little icon, Jo-Ann told me about. I could’ve released the book earlier, but wasn’t sure exactly when I’d get the formatted text back. Better safe than sorry. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  4. Marsha, congratulations on your new romantic suspense novel. The cover looks great!

    I actually have a new laptop that I haven’t used yet. I’m waiting until I start writing the fourth Kay Driscoll mystery and then I’ll switch over. It has Windows 10, but Bill changed it so that it will look like Windows 7. If I ever have any computer problems, Bill can usually solve them. I don’t know what I would do without him. Probably I would have the same experience as you did. I’ve been pretty lucky with my laptops. When they start going after a few years, I usually get a new one.

    Best wishes with The Theatre!!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Susan. Well, neither of us is very high tech. Kids are good, but they’re busy. Actually, I’m better than Bob. We are truly the blind leading the blind. You are lucky Bill is so good with all this. I only use my lap top if I’ve gone on a trip or am at a writing retreat or the big computer is acting up. I love my giant screen and my ergonomic keyboard. I know lots of folks are lap top folks. I can be, it’s just not my preference. I think you’re wise to switch at the beginning of the new book. I need to save what I’ve got on a flash drive so if something happens during the switchoff, I haven’t lost it all. Will also email it to my self. Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  5. We’ve been having all sorts of tech problems lately. Missing emails, the cell tower near us going out, problems with our wi-fi router, strange phone calls. Beginning to think we’re cursed. Glad you got your problem solved.
    Good luck with the new book.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, Kate, bless your heart. That all sounds awful. I’d have never guessed how dependent I’d be on technology, but boy am I. Your cell tower going out is really weird. Hope it all gets straightened out soon. Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

