Time Change

I try to stay away from anything too political on my blog, but I also try to write about timely issues. Since we Spring Forward on Sunday or technically at 2 am Sunday, how much more timely can I get. (Apologies, just couldn’t resist.) 🙂

MP900305767

The Fort Worth Star Telegram ran an article on Wednesday with helpful hints for how to make the adjustment less painful. Start Getting Yourself Ready For Making Sunday’s Change To Daylight-Saving Time is written by Leslie Barker of the Dallas Morning News. Here are her suggestions for making the change easier:

  1. Go to bed 15 to 20 minutes earlier each night. (We started this on Wednesday night.

  2. Adjust the timing of other clock-related activities. If you normally eat supper at 7 move it up to 6.

  3. Saturday night set your clocks ahead early in the evening so come 11 o’clock you’ll just go to bed.

  4. Monday night, go to bed when the clock says it’s time. None of this, “Well it’s really not bedtime yet.”

I must add a 5th one because I’m bad about this. I make my husband nuts when I say, “What time is it really?”

  1. Don’t ask what the former time is. Don’t talk about “5 formerly known as 6.”

Too late - conceptual alarm clock showing that you are too lateOf these suggestions, I especially like the moving the eating and going to bed times earlier before we actually need to do it.

In the Texas Legislature, we have representatives arguing for Texas to opt out of this time change. (Of course, Arizona has been that way for a number of years and Hawaii.) I’m frankly surprised that this issue has caught their attention. It seems to me staying light later is a boon to businesses, and Texas is all about bidness.

Lots of people really enjoy the change after it happens. It gives us more daylight hours to enjoy being outside. To cook out to eat out on patios—good for bidness, you know?

Originally, and this I didn’t know, the change goes back to WWI and WWII. Franklin D. Roosevelt called the change, War Time. It’s always been about saving energy. If the sun is still up, we don’t have to turn on the lights.

I’d vote to keep DLST all year. When I was a principal during the winter time, I’d leave home in the dark and return after dark. Unless I went outside during a class recess or had a meeting to attend, I could go weeks without seeing sunlight. That can play a number on your psyche.df59de81-45dd-456e-a6ef-bd3580709521

I agree there is some adjustment period, but after a week or two are bodies are okay. It’s kind of like when you put a contact in the left eye that sees distance and one in the right eye that sees close-up. Somehow our brains manage that.

Our bodies are amazing and can handle the change. Or hey, let’s just leave it this way all year long.

What’s your take on the change? How does the change affect you? Do you have a preference? Can you get on board with my idea to leave DLS time in place? Love to hear from you.

Book Progress: I’ve got two more chapters and I think the story in Book 3 in the Second Chances Series will finished. The book won’t be finished, but the story will be. I’ll put it aside for awhile and work on  book 4 for a month or two, then dig in for rewrites and edits.

Please contact me at marsha@marsharwest.com , sign up for my newsletter http://eepurl.com/bBcimz , and follow me on my social media sites.

http://www.marsharwest.com 

https://authormarsharwest.wordpress.com/ for my Blog

https://www.facebook.com/#!/marsha.r.west  @marsha.r.west

http://www.twitter.com/Marsharwest  @Marsharwest

https://www.pinterest.com/marsharwest/

https://sisterhoodofsuspense.com/blog

10 responses to “Time Change

  1. I hate watching children standing in the dark waiting for the bus all year long since just as the light is gaining in the morning, they change the clocks so they’re back in the dark again. I do dawn patrol, so it’s my choice to be out in the dark, but it’s quite a safety issue for children in the morning. I think their safety is worth leaving time on its natural setting rather than adjusting it to my convenience for play.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Renee,I agree the kids are a concern, but I sure wish we’d stay on DLST. I don’t like driving to meetings in the dark, and yes it’s my choice to go to those meetings, but that’s a safety issue, too. Guess there’s no way to make everyone happy. Thanks for stopping by and chatting. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi, Marsha! I vote for staying off the time. Nowadays, I think light technology has changed and is more affordable. I just don’t transition. Since fall back, I’ve been awake at 5. That’s too early for me. Perhaps, moving forward, I’ll wake at 6??? lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Vicki. You may be right about the technology. When I was a principal, I got up at 5 every morning so I could be at work by 7. It was always dark. Now I get up around 6:15 to read the paper and walk the dog. I tried going to be earlier last night to get ready for the change and had trouble getting to sleep. But I know from experience, I transition, and I do enjoy our light evenings. Because I’ve written this post, I’ll pay closer attention to when I’m okay with the change, see how long it really takes. Thanks for stopping by and sharing.:)

      Like

  3. We have daylight saving hours here, too, Marsha, only our clocks change on the last weekend in March. I hate losing an hour’s sleep but on the other hand the change is always a signal to me that spring has finally arrived.
    It takes me ages to work out how to change the clock in the car, and so I’ve left it an hour ahead from the time the clock’s went back. Now it will finally be right 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Helena. LOL I had a car I used to do that with. It was just too hard to change it. So I left it and half the year knew it was correct. Bob does all of the clocks in our house, and my current car is fairly easy to do. LOL I’m still laughing that we both left our car clocks the same. Thanks so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting idea to keep the same time year round. Like you,I look forward to getting that extra hour of light in the evenings. As far as going year round with it, I’m flexible. Adjusting to the time change takes me a couple of days, but since I’m not working outside my home anymore, I don’t care. I’m in charge of my own time schedule. Sounds like you are making great progress on your series!! Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, JQ. Life is certainly less stressful in “retirement.” Not less busy, just it’s my own choice now. Actually finished the book this morning. My older daughter called to see if I was free to do lunch. She’s usually too busy for that. I was thrilled to be able to and afterwards bought flowers to celebrate. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

    • Hey, Kate. Yea, DLST! LOL I think we’re outnumbered, but hey. It’s a free country. Yes, it feels good to have finished the rough draft. It’s very rough! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

