Cataract Surgery?

Thursday Morning Update: Successful surgery! Thank you, God and Dr. Renelle and staff. Thanks to Bob for staying with me all day yesterday and taking me in this morning. A few issues which should clear up by next week. For those of you fearing this surgery, don’t. This one was the easiest. I don’t know what kind of “joy juice” they put in my hand, but from moments after that until I woke up in recovery, I have no troublesome memories. Apparently, I was a model patient and kind to everyone. LOL Glad to hear that. My mom was always very kind to her caregivers.  So if you’re having doubts, forget’em. This was a breeze.

I’m writing this post on Tuesday because I’ll be out of pocket Wednesday. Last summer my husband had cataract surgery on both eyes, a month apart. Now he has 20-20 vision, better than he ever had!

StockSnap_069GQ56URU

Pic by Lisa Fotios on StockSnap.io My eyes are blue-green, but not this gorgeous. 🙂

Well Wednesday is my turn. I went with him last summer, so I have some idea of what’s going to happen. Our older daughter took us for the first one and our younger daughter’s husband drove us for the second. You’ll remember I was not driving or doing much of anything last summer after breaking my ankle.

Still, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t anxious about the procedure. Oh, the doctor is super experienced, and I have confidence in him and his ability. The staff is very comforting. But you know it’s my eye! And yes, God forbid, something goes wrong, I have another very good eye, but geeze. Will be glad to get it over with. Doing nothing isn’t an option. Looking through my left eye, these words on my computer are blurry, blurry, blurry.

I’ve started eye drops. Only one of the three stung. Grateful. 😊

What’s your experience with eye surgery? Have you had a cataract removed? Someone in your family? Please share. I hope to be able to read your responses Thursday evening and certainly by Friday.Vermont Escape 300dpi (3)

 

VERMONT ESCAPE Update: I’ll soon re-release my first book. So excited to get it back out there. As I read through it one more time before sending it to the formatter, I confess there were pages, when I thought, “Wow! I wrote that? Impressive!” LOL Reading it showed me what I need to do for ACT OF BETRAYAL, Book 3 in the Second Chances Series, coming out in the fall.

Thanks for stopping by.

Please sign up for my Newsletter http://eepurl.com/bBcimz , contact me at marsha@marsharwest.com , and follow me on my social media sites.

http://www.marsharwest.com 

https://authormarsharwest.wordpress.com/ for my Blog

https://www.facebook.com/#!/marsha.r.west  @marsha.r.west

http://www.twitter.com/Marsharwest  @Marsharwest

https://www.pinterest.com/marsharwest/

https://sisterhoodofsuspense.com/blog

 

20 responses to “Cataract Surgery?

  1. Hey, Marsha – I haven’t had cataract surgery but sort of shepherded both of my folks through it. They were in their 90s when they had it. Keeping up with the post-surgical drops is the most complicated part. The procedure, itself, is as close to “routine” as an invasive medical treatment can get. And, generally, folks are very pleased with the results. Thinking good thoughts for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Dan. I can sympathize with your care of your parents. My mother had lots of eye issues and came through them all really well. She did not outlive her eyesight, which was a fear. I’ve got a pad listing my 3 drops and put check-marks when I take them. Appreciate the good thoughts. I’m pleased with the results so far. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Best wishes for your eye surgery tomorrow. I’ll be thinking of you and will say a prayer for the best results. I’m sure all will go well and you’ll be amazed at how well you can see when all is said and done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Susan. I think the procedure is fairly miraculous. As soon as I woke up, I could see out of that left eye! Of course, I could before, but no more veil. Really amazing. 🙂 See addition above. No one should fear this surgery. Thanks for stopping by and for good wishes. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m so glad the surgery went well. I remember the manager of booking once saying there were so any of these surgeries being done she was starting to think everyone in Victoria had a third eye. Somehow that doesn’t make it easier when it’s YOUR eye so I’m glad it’s gone so well and you can continue writing amazing books!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Marsha! Many years ago, my mom had lens replacement surgery. She had none for many years due to cataracts when she was very young. She was so worried about losing the little sight she had which was black and white and shapes only. But she did it and it was a miracle for her.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey, Marsha. I had a traumatic cataract in my right eye removed right before Christmas — you are so right. Easy-peasy. (And there was a greater than 50% chance it would go sideways and my original surgeon was standing by. As in: outside the operating room.) Maybe it was too easy; it was hard to take it easy afterward. Now, I do NOT recommend going through what I had to in order to develop that traumatic cataract, but I have to confess, I’m sort of hoping for a reason to have my good eye done up…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, Susan. Wow! That’s scary. So glad it turned out all right. I wouldn’t have worried so much, but I thought I’d be awake staring at a light. Maybe I was, but I have not memory of it, so yeah, here’s to that magic “joy juice.” Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, they wiped my memory, too. I’m told we had a great discussion, though. (I have doubts.) I sort of freaked out when they brought something at my face without warning me, but that’s kinda how I got there in the first place…

        In unrelated news, stay in touch. I love to promo and help my fellow authors!

        Like

    • Hey, Rhianna. So nice to hear from you. I wasted a lot of time worrying about this, even putting off calling and setting up the appointment. But glad it’s over. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

